Below you can find brief information about the research interests of the researchers as well their contact information. 

  Professor Kimmo Grönlund
  Director of research
  (On sabbatical during the academic year of   2016-2017)  
Kimmo Grönlund




Research areas: Political behaviour, elections and voting behaviour, democracy, deliberative democracy.
Visit: Fänriksgatan 3 A, Åbo and Strandgatan 2, Vasa
Mail: Åbo Akademi, ASA A 4, 20500 Åbo, Finland
Phone: +358 2 215 4586
e-mail: kimmo.gronlund[at]

Lauri Rapeli
Director of research (acting)
Lauri Rapeli
Research areas: Political behavior, political sophistication, elections
Postal address: Åbo Akademi, ASA A 4, 20500 Åbo, Finland
Phone: + 358 2 215 4199
e-mail: lauri.rapeli[at]

Dr. Kim Strandberg
Associate professor

Kim Strandberg


Research areas: Political communication and behaviour on the internet, citizen deliberation, experimental research
Visit: Strandgatan 2, 65101 Vasa, Finland
Mobile: +358 50 5647510 (Internal number 807456)
e-mail: kim.strandberg[at]


Dr. Peter Söderlund, Associate professor 
Peter Söderlund
Academy researcher
Research areas: Voter- and election studies, voter volatility and political institutions
Visit: Strandgatan 2, 65101 Vasa, Finland
Phone: +358 6 3247251
e-mail: peter.soderlund[at]

Dr. Henrik Serup Christensen
Associate professor 

Academy researcher
Research areas: Research areas: Political participation and the consequences for democracy, political disenchantment, new forms of political participation, democratic innovations
Phone: +358 2 215 3544
Mobile:+358 443606977
e-mail: hchriste[at]

Kjell Herberts
Kjell Herberts
Research areas: multilingualism, minorities, methodology
Mail: Strandgatan 2, 65101 Vasa, Finland
Phone: +358 50 3632895
e-mail: kjell.herberts[at]

Dr. Staffan Himmelroos
Staffan Himmelroos
Post doctoral fellow
Research areas: Deliberative democracy, democratic theory, democratic innovations
Mail: Fänriksgatan 3 A 20500 ÅBO
Phone: +358 2 215 3545
Mobile: +358 50 3807047
e-mail: staffan.himmelroos[at]

Dr. Marina Lindell
Marina Lindell



Research areas: Citizen deliberation, democracy research,
democratic innovations, democratic discussions, opinion change, political behavior
Visit: Strandgatan 2, 65101 Vasa, Finland
Phone: +358 6 3247154
e-mail: marina.lindell[at]

Dr. Inga Saikkonen
Inga Saikkonen
Research areas: Comparative democratization, authoritarianism, elections, subnational politics
Address: Åbo Akademi University, ASA A 4, 20500 Åbo, Finland
e-mail: inga.saikkonen[at]

Dr. Maria Bäck (on leave of absence 2016)
Maria Bäck
Post doctoral researcher (CONTRE)
Research areas: Social capital, political trust, political participation 
Visit: Fänriksgatan 3A, 20500 Åbo
Mobile: +358 44 585 6076
e-mail: maria.t.back[at]

Janne Berg
Janne Berg
Doctoral student (D:CE)
Research areas: Political communication, political participation and citizen behaviour on the internet, political discussion, e-petitions, democracy research. 
Mail: Strandgatan 2, 65101 Vasa, Finland
Phone: +358 6 3247 145
Mobile: +358 46 921 6576
e-mail: janne.berg[at]

Thomas Karv
Thomas Karv
Project researcher, doctoral student
Research area: political trust
Mail: Strandgatan 2, 65100 VASA, Finland
Phone: +358 40 755 88 05
e-mail: thomas.karv[at]

Marco La Rosa
Marco La Rosa
PhD Candidate
Research areas: EU institutions, European studies, political representation, political behavior, democracy research, political communication
Address: Åbo Akademi, ASA A4, 20500 Åbo
Tel.: + 358 40 023 85 26
e-mail: marco.larosa[at]

Nanuli Silagadze
Nanuli Silagadze
PhD Candidate
Research areas: Political behaviour, direct democracy, democratic innovations
Address: Åbo Akademi, ASA A4, 20500 Åbo
Tel.: + 358 504139369
e-mail: nanuli.silagadze[a]